Harste as Scholar

Dr. Jerome C. Harste taught at Indiana University from 1970 – 2006, becoming the first Armstrong Chair in the School of Education in 1997. He has received numerous awards for his work in early literacy including, the David H. Russell Research Award from the National Council of Teachers of English. In 1997 he was inducted into the Reading Hall of Fame. In 2008 he was recognized as an Outstanding Language Arts Educator by the Elementary Section of the National Council of Teachers of English.  In 2013 he received the Oscar Causey Research Award for Outstanding Contributions to the profession’s understanding of the reading  process.  At Indiana University he received the Gorman Teaching Award from the School of Education and the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Teaching Award from the University as a whole.  He has served on the Board of the International Reading Association as well as the President of the National Reading Conference (now the Literacy Research Association), the Whole Language Umbrella, and the National Conference on Research in Language and Literacy, and the National Council of Teachers in English.

View Dr. Harste’s recent publications and bio.